Posted by: Greta Jaeger | November 9, 2009

Learn to Bend Time

It is a beautiful inspiring day here in Tucker, GA there is a light breeze, the sun is shining and the temperature is around 70 degrees. I am sitting on my recently built deck breathing and enjoying the day. My dog Lulu is sitting next to me growling at the neighbors as they work in the yard. I am three hours behind schedule. It is amazing how time goes by so quickly any woman with kids, a job or both knows. I am experimenting this month with scheduling to see if I can bend time (that is have time to do everything I want). My mentor Dr. Duckett says you must have a good schedule to bend time.

Here are the options:

1. Do the big stuff in the morning and then the little stuff in the afternoon
2. Schedule everything but no times attached
3. Schedule everything and have time frames for each event.

After picking which one you like do this:

The first Monday of the month take the whole day to work on your month’s schedule. Then every Monday after spend at least thirty minutes scheduling the week. This kind of scheduling is particularly important to entrepreneurs; it can also be helpful to mothers and anyone women employed who wants to start a business. You just spend a proportional amount of time scheduling i.e. if you only have ten hours a week to work on your business you may not take the whole day to schedule you may take two to three hours at the beginning of the month and then only fifteen minutes every week after that. No matter what you must schedule yourself otherwise you may get things done, but it will be inefficient and you will feel disorganized. As with everything I discuss it takes practice and we are not looking for perfection only permanence.

Right now option three is winning for me because I get a lot more done when I have times actually written down. I know of several people where option one works great as well. Option two seems to leave to much room for disorganization.

If you are tired of feeling disorganized and confused contact me at:

Greta Jaeger, CPLC, LPC
(404) 259-1335
greta@CoachingYourDreams.com
http://www.CoachingYourDreams.com
http://www.YourCanHaveItAll.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

Categories

