Posted by: Greta Jaeger | October 27, 2009

Controling Your Mind Part III (Visualizing)

Yesterday looking to be inspired I walked by the pond near my house and the fall colors are just touching the trees it is beautiful. I live in the south so unlike my home town of Napa California we actually have seasons. I was thinking as a walked past the park what could I write about next in my blog there are so many exciting topic I was having trouble deciding. I could write another blog about taking care of yourself or maybe something new. As I looked around at the beautiful day I decided that talking about how to use visualization to attain the goals you set for yourself.
Visualizing can help us accelerate our re-framing practice from my early blog in controlling you mind part I, it can help you have a better attitude about your co workers and the list can go on and on. This particular skill is seriously under used. I will give you an example of how visualizing can help. I gave a couple a visualizing homework assignment, they were to visualize the marriage they wanted with each and have strong happy emotions when they were visualizing. Until this point they were struggling with communicating and the husband was having trouble expressing his feelings. After only four days of practice we had another session. They told me we don’t know what’s changed but things have been a lot better and the husband was sharing emotions. I will tell you what has changed their focus they are in the middle of re-training their brains to have a good relationship with each other and brain is more than happy to help.

When we use visualizing it is best to become completely involved in what your are imagining down to small details what are the smells that go along with the goal, what are the emotions, what does it look like, are their other people involved and make the emotions as strong and positive as you can. Being very clear with your visualizing literally builds new neuropaths. Your brain does not know the difference between real life and the imagination as far as your brain is concerned you accomplished your goal and it makes success pathways in your brain and with repetition these become natural more natural than the pathways that recently told you that you couldn’t do it. Are you beginning to see how this can benefit you in re-training your brain. I am going to tell you a SECRET now so write this down the stronger the positive feelings you have while visualizing the quicker you will develop new neuropaths ways in the brain and this will help you achieve your goals faster. Please remember practice, I would suggest at least two to three times a day.

I am going to start a coaching group (conference call) for women in their mid life crisis in two weeks if you are interested give me a call. I am starting the group in November because the holidays have begun and this can be a stressful time for women. I am sending this to my list and space is limited I will only allow 15 women in the group. If you are interested call me right away so I can hold your spot. Please keep in mind when you call I will do a brief interview to see if you are a good fit for the group.

Please send any questions to:
greta@CoachingYourDreams.com
Please put in the subject line “Question for Coach Greta” or leave a comment on my blog and I will get back to you.

Greta Jaeger, PLC, LPC
404-259-1335
http://www.CoachingYourDreams.com
greta@CoachingYourDreams.com
http://www.YouCanHaveItAll.com

Leave a Reply

Categories

